Google is now allowing you to delete your Google Voice number. There are some important points you need to know before you go deleting your number.
- Google is rolling out this feature so if you don’t see a “Delete” link next to your number, it is coming. So be patient.
- You cannot delete your Google Voice number if you are using Sprint integration or if you have paid to port your number into Google Voice.
- Canceling your Google Voice number will prevent you from being able to make or receive calls on your Google number.
- Deleting your Google Voice number will NOT delete your Google Voice inbox. You will still be able to access it by signing in to your Google Voice account.
- Once your Google Voice number is deleted you’ll have 90 days to reclaim it. During the 90 day period no one else will be able to sign up for the number.
- If you decide you want the number back within 90 days, you can search for it by clicking Get a Google Voice Number in the Phones tab of your Google Voice Settings.
- After the 90 day period, other Google Voice users will be able to sign up for that number.
To delete your Google Voice number:
- Sign in to your Google Voice account.
- Click the gear icon and select Settings.
- Click Delete next to your Google Voice number.
- Follow the prompts to delete your Google number.
- After you delete your number, you MUST also remove Google Voicemail from your forwarding phones. You can call your carrier and have them disable conditional call forwarding.
If you don’t want to lose your number because you gave it out to all your family and friends, you can port your number out of Google Voice. See the link below for how to port your number out of Google Voice.